2012 'Click It or Ticket' Education and Enforcement Campaign

Story Category: Live Updates »

2012 'Click It or Ticket' Education and Enforcement Campaign


Printer friendly

The St. Mary’s County Sheriff’s Officewill join other nationwide law enforcement agencies and highway safety advocates all across the country for the 2012 National Click It or Ticket seatbelt enforcement mobilization, May 7, 2012 through June 3, 2012.

Click It or Ticket is a two prong – education and enforcement campaign.Law enforcement officials work with the local media, schools and civic organizations to bring awareness to the advantages of using occupant restraints and child safety seats.

Maryland Law requires:

a.Every driver and front seat passenger next to the door must wear a seat belt, regardless of their age.

b.Everyone under the age of 16 must wear a seat belt, regardless of where they are sitting in the vehicle.

c.Maryland law requires children to use booster seats until they reach age 8, a weight of 65 pounds or a height of 4'9", whichever comes first. 

d.Every child under the age of 16 must either be secured in a child safety seat or restrained by a seat belt.

e.Children under the age of 16 may not ride in an unenclosed bed of a pickup truck.

Enforcement measures are implemented for those who choose to violate Maryland law by not wearing a seatbelt.Deputies will be vigilant and take enforcement action during the day and at night.The St. Mary’s County Sheriff’s Office will partner with the Charles and Calvert County Sheriff’s Offices, and the Maryland State Police and conduct seatbelt checkpoints throughout the campaign.

“Every year motors and passenger, who have not buckled up, die in motor vehicle crashes.These traffic deaths can be prevented if motorists simply buckle up.The St. Mary’s County Sheriff’s Office strongly supports prevention, education and enforcement of Maryland’s seatbelt and child safety seat laws, not only during the Click It or Ticketcampaign, but year round.Please buckle up and encourage your loved ones to do the same.” (Sheriff Timothy Cameron)

Maryland Seat Belt Laws:

TA 22-412.2(d) Failing to secure child under age 8 in child safety seat when transporting in motor vehicle

§$60.00 fine

§“child safety seat’ means a device, including a child booster seat, that the manufacturer:

1)certifies is manufactured in accordance with applicable federal safety standards and

2)intends to be used to restrain, seat, or position a child who is transported in a motor vehicle.

§“child safety seat” does not mean a seat belt or combination of seat belt-shoulder harness used alone.

§A person transporting a child under the age of 8 years in a motor vehicle shall secure the child in a child safety seat in accordance with the child safety seat and vehicle manufacturers’ instructions unless the child:

1)Is 4 feet, 9 inches (57 inches) or taller OR

2)Weighs more than 65 pounds

TA 22-412.2(e) Fail to transport child under age 16 in (child safety seat per instructions, a seat belt)

§$60.00 fine

§A person may not transport a child under the age of 16 years, taller than 4 feet 9 inches (57 inches), or weighing 65 pounds or more unless the child is secured in a child safety seat or seat belt

TA 22-412.2(g) Using a (child safety seat, seat belt) to (restrain, seat, position) more than 1 individual

§$60.00 fine

TA 22-412.3(b) (Operator, Occupant Under 16) not restrained by (seat belt, child safety seat)

§$25.00 fine

§“seat belt” includes a combination seat belt-shoulder harness

§Physically disabled persons: If a physician licensed to practice medicine in the state of Maryland determines and certifies in writing that use of a seat belt by a person would prevent appropriate restraint due to a person’s physical disability or other medical reason, the provisions of this section do not apply to that person.

News Feedback NOTE: Views expressed below do not reflect the views or opinions of TheBayNet.com, or the employees of TheBayNet.com.

Send This Story to a Friend!

Back to Top

© 2005-2014 TheBayNet, Inc.