The Calvert County Commissioners saluted 14 Department of Public Works employees Feb. 14 for volunteering for a potentially dangerous mission. The 11 men and three women have been trained to aid in planning and response should there be an accident at Calvert Cliffs Nuclear Power Plant in Lusby.

“They are extra resources who are put in place,” said Employee Recognition Committee (ERC) member Peter Carlson, to enable police fire and rescue personnel to make it safely to “the containment zone.”

“They are willing to put themselves in harm’s way to ensure the safety of first responders,” stated ERC Chair Kim Gott, who explained the team would be responsible for “radiation monitoring and decontamination.”

The group received Calvert County Government’s Team Excellence Award, with individuals earning certificates and Team Excellence shirts.

The Team Excellence Award recipients are:

Solid Waste Division – Bruce Bevard, Donald Eversfield, Rose Marie Green, William Todd Harris, Floyd Jefferson, Francis Jones, Laurie Lago, Marie Moore, George Steelburg and William Teter

Highway Maintenance Division – Wayne Gross, Cornell Johnson, Donas McCready and Chuck Zinn.

Contact Marty Madden at