The Maryland State Department of Education has named 109 Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholars for 2008. Local winners in Calvert County include Ryan Butler, Northern High School; and Christopher Hurley, Huntingtown High School. In Charles County, the winners are Eric Leadbetter, Maurice J. McDonough High School;Angela Maki, Westlake High School; and Abe Massad, La Plata High School. St. Mary’s County winners are Robert Barthelmes, Leonardtown High School; and
Jessica Guy, Chopticon High School.

Each honoree received a four-year scholarship worth up to $1,500 per year. to be used for undergraduate study at any institution of higher education. The scholars were chosen from more than 500 students nominated by principals from public and private high schools across the state. Nominees were made from the top 1 percent of graduating classes. GED graduates were also considered.

The Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholarship Program is designed to promote student excellence and achievement. The program recognizes exceptionally able students who show the promise of continued excellence during their pursuit of higher education. Scholars were named in all 24 public school systems, as well as at private schools.