LA PLATA, Md. — Today, May 4, the town of  La Plata will hold elections for their Mayor and Wards I, II, III and IV Councilmembers.

The General Election will have extended voting hours from 7:00 a.m. to 8 p.m. Voting takes place at the La Plata Town Hall which is addressed:

305 Queen Anne Street, La Plata, Maryland 20646

All qualified voters of the Town will be able to vote for candidates for Mayor and Wards I, II, III and IV Councilmen, to serve 4-year terms of office. 

Eligibility to Vote

To vote in the General Election (on Tuesday, May 4, 2021), you must already have been registered to vote with the Charles County Board of Elections or with the Town Board of Elections by April 5, 2021.If you are a Town resident and are already registered to vote with the County Board of Elections, you are eligible to vote in Town elections. It is now considered too late to submit any absentee votes.

Who is on the ballot?

Both Mayor Jeannine Elizabeth James and Ward III candidate Evalyne Louise Bryant-Ward are running in the election unopposed. Councilman Matthew Simpson is the only member, aside from Mayor James, to seek re-election. He is running opposed by James Goldsmith for the Ward I seat.

Ward’s II and IV are also both contested. The email addresses for each candidate to be contacted are listed below.


Jeannine Elizabeth James


Ward I

James Goldsmith


Matthew Timothy Simpson


Ward II

Jonathan Daniel Norris


Matthew Decker Trollinger


Ward III

Evalyne Louise Bryant-Ward


Ward IV –  Primary Election on March 15, 2021 Results listed below.

David M. Jenkins


Amy Posey



Contact our news desk at