Six-time IHRA Top Fuel world champion Clay Millican came to Maryland International Raceway this past weekend to defend last season’s event championship. He succeeded, by beating current points leader T.J. Zizzo in the final round to claim his 51st career national event Ironman.

Zizzo ran a 4.685 at 321.73 mph. Millican was able to win with a 4.576 at 325.85 mph, a pass that backed up his provisional record run of 328.14 set during Fridays qualifying.

Pete Berner, Mike Janis, Jack Wyatt and Laurie Cannister also took home titles.

The next race in the $19.5 million Knoll Gas Nitro Jam Drag Racing Series is the IHRA World Finals presented by the United States Air Force, Oct. 19-21, at historic Rockingham Dragway. For more information, go to

See slideshow below for pictures from the event.


Sunday’s final results from the Torco Race Fuels President’s Cup Nationals at Maryland International Raceway.

Top Fuel – Clay Millican, 4.576 seconds, 325.85 mph defeated T.J. Zizzo, 4.685 seconds, 321.73 mph.

Nitro Funny Car – Mitch King, Chevy Corvette, 5.133, 289.45  defeated Jack Wyatt, Dodge Stratus, No Time (broke).

Pro Modified – Mike Janis, Chevy Cobalt, 6.025, 241.63  defeated John Russo, Chevy Camaro, 6.127, 241.24.

Alcohol Funny Car -Laurie Cannister, Chevy Camaro, 5.780, 245.49  defeated Mark Thomas, Chevy Monte Carlo, 5.845, 245.09.

Pro Stock – Pete Berner, Pontiac GTO, 6.307, 222.40  defeated Dean Goforth, GTO, 6.357, 223.69.