WASHINGTON – Today, U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen announced the recipients of his 2018 Public Service Award in St. Mary’s, Charles, and Calvert Counties. The Van Hollen Public Service Award is designed to commend a high school senior who has demonstrated a high level of commitment to community or public service. Students who embody this commitment are dedicated to making a positive change that will benefit their community, state, or nation. Senator Van Hollen is announcing over 90 recipients throughout Maryland.

“Just as we recognize students who perform well academically or athletically, students who are committed to serving others deserve public recognition and commendation. These students have each shown dedication to serving their communities, and I’m proud to honor their work. I look forward to seeing the great things these young men and women will accomplish in the years ahead,” said Senator Van Hollen.

Name of Awardee High School Location
Julia Roush Calvert High School Prince Frederick, MD
Elizabeth Ann Boley Huntington High School Huntington, MD
McKinley Cameron Northern High School Owings, MD
Annmarie L. Budde Patuxent High School Lusby, MD
Hallie Jane Redding La Plata High School La Plata, MD
Jordan Christian Thomas Stone High School Waldorf, MD
Brielle Morgan Dr. James A. Forrest Career and Technology Center Leonardtown, MD
Jane S. Bailey Leonardtown High School Leonardtown, MD

The Van Hollen Public Service Award is awarded to students who display a deep sense of dedication to public service, take meaningful personal initiative, and bring an innovative and fresh approach to improving the lives of others. The Senator’s office invited local schools to nominate students who embody these guidelines and nominated students receive a Congressional Citation. The Van Hollen Public Service Awards program was launched in 2004 when Senator Van Hollen served in the House of Representatives and has since been expanded to encompass the entire state.