On Thursday, April 18, 2013, the Board of Education and Dr. Michael Martirano, Superintendent of Schools, recognized the nominees for the Educational Support Professional of the Year for 2012-2013.  The purpose of the award is to recognize an outstanding educational support professional for his/her contributions to the success of the learning community and to focus public attention on the importance of educational support professionals.  The following individuals were nominated to represent their locations:

During the event, the school system named Mr. Antone Smith, Sr., Safety Assistant Team Leader, as the Educational Support Professional of the Year.  This year’s Honorable Mention winners were: Tracy Lumpkins, Capital Planning Analyst; Wynette C. Perry, ISIC Paraeducator, and Beverley Schwartzenburg, Secretary.