Superintendent Kimberly A. Hill presented her elementary school redistricting recommendation to the Board of Education on May 9, suggesting Proposal A with no modifications.

In a presentation to the Board, Michael Heim, assistant superintendent of supporting services, said the recommendation takes into account public and written testimony and the fact Proposal A impacts fewer students while still accomplishing redistricting goals. Proposal A establishes an attendance zone for Billingsley Elementary School, which opens in September 2018, and an expanded zone for Dr. Samuel A. Mudd Elementary School. CCPS is starting a complete renovation and expansion of Mudd starting in June.

The recommendation moves approximately 2,221 elementary school students. All elementary schools, with the exception of Gale-Bailey, Dr. Thomas L. Higdon, Indian Head, Malcolm, T.C. Martin and Mt. Hope/Nanjemoy elementary schools, are impacted in some way by the redistricting. Heim said several schools remain over state-rated capacity; however, kindergarten additions at Mary H. Matula, Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer and upcoming kindergarten additions at Dr. James Craik and Berry elementary schools will increase the state-rated capacity at these schools.

The elementary school redistricting takes effect in September 2018 to coincide with the opening of Billingsley.

The Board will accept comment on the Superintendent’s proposal at a public hearing, 6:30-9 p.m., May 22, at Westlake High School. The Board will make its final decision regarding the elementary school redistricting at its June 13 meeting.

Residents may also mail or email comments. Email comments to or mail to Redistricting, Charles County Public Schools, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, MD 20646. The deadline to submit comments is June 1.

For a complete overview of redistricting, fact sheets, presentations, and other information, visit