Sydney Atkins, swimming

PRINCE FREDERICK, Md. – The Calvert County Public Schools Board of Education honored six individuals and one team for winning state athletic championships during the 2018 winter season.

Dr. Daniel D. Curry, Superintendent, said “We’re proud of these students who represent Calvert County so well.”

The Huntingtown High wrestling team won their first Maryland Public Secondary School Athletic Association 3A Championship. After finishing the season with a 33-2 record, the Hurricanes ranked third in the Washington Metropolitan Area, second in the state of Maryland overall in public school rankings, and first overall in the state 3A/4A classification. They also scored the most points ever in the Southern Maryland Athletic Conference (SMAC) tournament. This team is the first in Maryland to qualify all 14 varsity wrestlers for every weight class to the Maryland Public Secondary Schools Athletic Association State Tournament. They finished with two State champions, three State finalists, and five State place-winners. Statistically, the 2017-2018 Hurricane wrestling team finished the season as the single greatest wrestling team in Calvert County wrestling history since 1984 when wrestling was started in Calvert County schools. The team is coached by Jeff Fowler and Stephen Gilligan.

In addition to the team, two individual Huntingtown wrestlers were recognized for State championships. Senior Tristin Breen won the championship for the 170-pound weight class. As the SMAC 2018 Wrestler of the Year, Tristin ended his season with a record 49-2 and a career record of 163-21. Sophomore Blake Jury won the championship for the 113-pound weight class. Blake ended his season with a record 45-6 and a career record of 83-19.

Huntingtown High freshman swimmer Sydney Atkins was the champion in the 100 backstroke. Sydney also placed 3rd in the 100 freestyle event. Sydney is coached by Kandia Spain, retired teacher and head swim coach for Huntingtown.

Three Northern High students were indoor track champions. Senior Abigail Sweeney won the 3A 3200-meter championship and senior Sarah Deresky won the 1600-meter championship. Both runners are coached by Josh Dawson. Senior Ryan Brown, coached by John Urdahl, Jr., won the 3A shot put championship. All three champions will continue their athletic careers next year in college.