The Charles County Scholarship Fund, Inc., is offering 34 scholarships to Charles County students. Applications are available at all county high schools and must be submitted by March 1.

Applications are also available on the school system Web site,, under the students section, located on the left-hand side of the home page. Click on the Scholarship & College information tab. Students can also contact their school counselor or Career Center coordinator for more information.

 Each scholarship has specific eligibility criteria and information regarding eligibility is located on page two of the application. The following scholarships are available:

• Richard J. Abela Scholarship, $5,000 (for North Point students);
• Apartments of St. Charles Scholarship, $1,000;
• St. Charles Community Scholarship, $1,000;
• Jeremiah and Elijah Borgnis Memorial Scholarship, $500;
• Unnae Pak-Borgnis Memorial Scholarship, $500;
• Charles County Chamber of Commerce Scholarship, College of Southern Maryland, $1,000;
• Charles County Health Department & School Nurses’ Scholarship, $250;
• Charles County Retired School Personnel Association Scholarship, $500 (one for each county public high school);
• Charles County Teacher Education Assistance Grant Scholarship, $1,000 (renewable);
• John H. Cox Memorial Scholarship, $500;
• Kate Donahue Memorial Scholarship, $400 (for Lackey students);
• Lisa Michele Duckett Achievement Award, $1,000;
• Grote Memorial Scholarship, $500 (for La Plata students);
• William and Vivian King Scholarship, $1,000;
• Thomas Kurtz Memorial Scholarship, $1,000 (for Lackey students);
• Harold Allen Levy Scholarship, College of Southern Maryland, $1,000;
• Mary Matula Scholarship, $300 (for La Plata students);
• Timothy Minor Criminal Justice Memorial Scholarship, $500;
• Timothy Minor Memorial Scholarship, $1,000;
• Stephen E. Mitchell Educational Scholarship, $500;
• Thomas B. R. Mudd Nurse Scholarship, College of Southern Maryland, full two years;
• Thomas B. R. Mudd Teacher Scholarship, College of Southern Maryland, full two years;
• Mildred Rice O’Callaghan Memorial Scholarship, $500 (two awards, for Lackey students);
• Nicole Pitonyak Memorial Scholarship, $1,000 (for North Point students);
• Katherine D. Racey Memorial Scholarship, $1,500 (for McDonough or Lackey students);
• Edward Rorer Memorial Scholarship, $500 (for Science, Technology & Industry students);
• Starkey Memorial Scholarship, $500;
• Robert Dean Stethem National Memorial Scholarship, $1,000;
• Robert Dean Stethem Thomas Stone Scholarship, $1,000 (for Stone students);
• Michael S. Tayman Memorial Scholarship, $1,000 (for McDonough students);
• Michael S. Tayman Memorial Nursing Scholarship, $1,000 (for McDonough students);
• Patricia Sugg Weiers Memorial Scholarship, $250;
• Woman’s Club of Southern Maryland Scholarship, $1,000; and
• Zonta of Charles County Scholarship, $1,000 (two awards).

Contact Jeanette Kaufmann, Charles County Scholarship Fund, Inc., at 301-934-7314, for more information.