St. Mary’s County Public Schools’ (SMCPS) Work Hard and Be Nice Award recognizes distinct and extraordinary accomplishments of school system employees in connection with official employment. Dedicated employees contribute to the success of the school system and our students. Award recipients enhance both the success and the reputation of the school system through their extraordinary actions.

Each month, staff members are recognized for going above and beyond the call of duty.  Dr. Michael J. Martirano, superintendent of schools, is proud to announce the award recipients for the month of June 2013:

Ashley Abell

Patricia Abell

Trish Agate

Joni Cummins

Jackie DePiazza

Leonard Evans

Leslie Fancella

Nicole Green

Dwayne Hancock

Emily Harris

Brandi King

Katie Kortokrax

Joshua Lynch

Darlene Morris

Tammy Ogle

Ellen Shawyer

Laura Vallandingham

Sue Waters

Kristin Zelenakas


 For more information about the SMCPS Work Hard and Be Nice Award program, or to nominate a school system employee, visit