“Meet the Artists” Public Reception on Tuesday, July 19, 6:30 pm

On July 26, 1990, President George H.W. Bush signed into law the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) to ensure the civil rights of people with disabilities. This legislation established a clear and comprehensive national mandate for the elimination of discrimination against individuals with disabilities.

On July 26, 2016, the nation will remember the 26th anniversary of the signing of the ADA. The ADA has expanded opportunities for Americans with disabilities by reducing barriers and changing perceptions, and increasing full participation in community life. However, the full promise of the ADA will only be reached if we remain committed to continue our efforts to fully implement the ADA.

The Charles County Arts Alliance and the Charles County Commission on Individuals with Disabilities have collaborated to celebrate and recognize the progress that has been made by reaffirming the principles of equality and inclusion and recommitting our efforts to reach full ADA compliance.

We are celebrating with a multi-media public exhibit to recognize local artists with disabilities. The show, which features artists ranging in ages from 6 to 66, includes works by: Jennifer Bell, Lacy Bullard, Mary Burdick, Sarah Cacciaglia, Alexander Chisley, Xavier Chisley, Nyle Coleman, Mary Jean Garner, Travis Gilbert, Doris Hagens, Rosalie Hawkins, Jackson Henry, James Robert Johnson, Taren Johnson, Jonathan Jones, Antonio Landers, Jody Loper, Doug Nevitt, Rudolph Nielsen, John Reese, Christopher Walker, Lindsay Wallace, Aaliyah Wells, Joanne White, Nolan Wilder; and artists from Charles County Freedom Landing:  Curtis Chisley, Angela Ellis, Tawanna Farmer, John Ford, Cameron Green, Delandes Green, Tieshia Litten, Kyley McConnell, Derrick Monkister, Graig Musselman, Minh Nguyen, Tiffani Patterson, Ray Thompson and Brandon Wood. 

On Tuesday, July 19, 2016, a “Meet the Artists” Public Reception will be held from 6:30 to 8:30 pm, at the Charles County Government Building to honor all the “artists without limits” participating in the summer show.

The Gallery is located adjacent to the front lobby in the Charles County Government Building, 200 W. Baltimore Street, La Plata, Maryland. Gallery Hours are: Monday – Friday, 8:00 am to 4:30 pm.

The mission of the Charles County Arts Alliance is to stimulate, promote, encourage and provide recognition of the arts and the creative spirit in Charles County.  For more information on the Arts Alliance, contact the CCAA office at 301-392-5900, info@charlescountyarts.org, or www.charlescountyarts.org.