Calvert County, MD – The Volunteer of the Year recognition program for Calvert County Public Schools (CCPS) was held during the meeting of the Board of Education on May 26, 2016. The Board also recognized Tammy Brunstrom as a semifinalist for the Maryland Parent Involvement Matters Award (PIMA). 

Dr. Daniel D. Curry, Superintendent of Schools, said, “People tell us they move here for the schools. One of the things that makes our schools great is the partnership with the community. Whether through PTA, local businesses, boosters or simply a caring individual willing to do whatever it takes, our schools rely on the volunteers to help us get the job done. There are so many people in this community who give of their time and expertise to help our children be successful. Thank you.”
The Parent Involvement Matters Award (PIMA) Program is sponsored by the Maryland State Department of Education and is the nation’s first statewide initiative of its kind. Currently in its ninth year, the award recognizes parents and legal guardians for their exceptional support of public education. Honorees are nominated for demonstrating significant, positive contributions in their education communities.

Ms. Brunstrom began her service to Calvert County Public Schools at Plum Point Elementary School. As her children progressed through the school system, she moved to Plum Point Middle and finally Huntingtown High. Her most recent contributions to the school include serving as PTSA President and an an officer in the Athletic Booster Club. Rick Weber, Principal of Huntingtown High, said, “Tammy is the epitome of a parent volunteer. Her motivation and sincere interest in students is paralleled by her determination to make sure that all students at Huntingtown High School have the means to be successful and to enjoy their high school experience. She believes that parents can and do make a difference in their child’s education. Her ability to juggle work, extra-curricular activities, being a mother of four and a variety of volunteer services is an asset that sets her apart from the rest.”
The PIMA award will be presented during an evening celebration on Friday, June 3, 2016. Five finalists and a statewide winner will be announced during the awards ceremony.

The CCPS Volunteers of the Year are selected by every school from among the numerous individuals who dedicate hours of service to the school community.
The 2016 Volunteers of the Year are:

Sandy Smith: Barstow Elementary School
Jen Frum: Beach Elementary School
Kelli Jones: Calvert Elementary School
Renee Annand: Dowell Elementary School
Elizabeth Diane Irzinski: Huntingtown Elementary School
Lisa Anderson: Mount Harmony Elementary School
Jennifer Matthews: Mutual Elementary School
Tavia Robinette: Patuxent Appeal Campus
Jennifer Laudenberger: Plum Point Elementary School
Diana Bowen: St. Leonard Elementary School
Nathalie Thon: Sunderland Elementary School
Michele Barton: Windy Hill Elementary School
Anita Santoyo: Calvert Middle School
Johanna Icaza: Mill Creek Middle School
Shannon Stander: Northern Middle School
Dr. Christopher Clarke: Plum Point Middle School
Jennifer Fleming: Southern Middle School
Susan Murphy: Windy Hill Middle School
Mariann and Charles Crisman: Calvert High School
Jada Scott: Huntingtown High School
Rose Crunkleton: Northern High School
Alissa Leonard: Patuxent High School
Jacqueline Jerald: Calvert Country School