NCMPR Pacesetter Award recipient College of Southern Maryland President Dr. Brad Gottfried, center, is joined by, from left, CSM Foundation Directors Alland Leandre, Robert T. Quattlebaum and Barry Walrath, Foundation Chair Christine Rush, and Board of Trustees Vice Chair Dorothea Holt Smith.

The College of Southern Maryland was recognized for its marketing and public relations efforts at the National Council for Marketing and Public Relations (NCMPR) District 1 conference Oct. 13. CSM President Dr. Brad Gottfried was awarded the district’s Pacesetter Award for his strong focus on the college’s marketing, communications, advocacy and fundraising campaigns. The Pacesetter Award is presented annually in each of NCMPR’s seven districts with those winners considered for the national award to be presented during NCMPR’s national convention in Portland, Oregon, in March.

The college received five gold, six silver and three bronze Medallion Awards. Honored were Lead Media Relations Coordinator Dorothy Hill, Lead Desktop Publisher/Production Specialist Brenda Jones, Graphic Designer Lisa Jones, Lead Photography Coordinator Valerie Nyce , Junior Graphic Designer Katherine Reyes, Interactive Media Coordinator Marika Taylor and Web Services Director Kristen Titsworth.

Also deserving of recognition are Marketing Coordinator Lena Hancock as well as Michael Shelton, former director of Creative Services, for their roles in the development of many of the award-winning marketing pieces.

“It is so rewarding to see our talented and creative marketing and public relations teams receive high honors and awards from such a prestigious organization as NCMPR. The leadership of vice presidents Theresa Johnson and Karen Smith Hupp plays a key role in our success,” said Vice President of Advancement Michelle Goodwin.
For more on Gottfried’s Pacesetter Award, visit