ANNAPOLIS, Md. — The “Fight for Fifteen” was fought and won by the Democratic held Maryland General Assembly during the 2019 Legislative Session, and in Jan. 1, 2021, the effects will continue to be felt all-across the Old Line State.
Starting this year, minimum wage will be increasing from $11 per hour, to $11.60 per hour for businesses with less than 14 employees, and to $11.75 for businesses with more personnel. The scheduled increases are as follows:
The minimum wage for tipped employees will stay at $3.63 per hour. That amount and tips combined must equal the state’s minimum wage.
Governor Larry Hogan[R] vetoed the original increase two years ago, but saw the state legislature override his action.
Maryland’s minimum wage is still currently on track to reach $15 an hour by 2025 for large employers, and 2026 for employers with 14 or less employees.
Currently, with regards to non-compliance, the Maryland Wage and Hour Law says:
If an employer pays less than the wages required, the employee may bring an action against the employer to recover (1) the difference between the wage paid to the employee and the wage required; (2) an additional amount equal to the difference as liquidated damages; and (3) legal fees. If an employer shows to the satisfaction of the court that the employer acted in good faith and reasonably believed that the wages paid to the employee were not less than the required wages, then the court must award liquidated damages of an amount less than the difference in wages or no liquidated damages.
An employer or another person who violates the Maryland Wage and Hour Law is guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction is subject to a fine of up to $1,000.
To read TheBayNet.com’s original coverage about Maryland adapting to these initial changes last year, click HERE.