The St. Mary’s College women’s lacrosse team is ranked 14th in the country according to Lacrosse magazine’s annual preseason college rankings, released over the holiday break. The rankings are compiled by Lacrosse magazine staff with consultations from coaches and other members of the press.

The Seahawks will return 12 of 19 players from last season’s 10-6 team. Senior midfielder Allyson Sarigianis (Bel Air, MD/John Carroll) and junior goalkeeper Melissa Puzak (Arnold, MD/Broadneck) will look to lead the Seahawks back into the NCAA tournament this season after missing out in 2005 for the first time in five seasons.

Puzak posted a 10-6 overall record in net in her primary season as a starting goalkeeper last year and was chosen as a All-South Atlantic Region First Team member by the IWLCA)/US Lacrosse D-III Committee. Puzak recorded 145 saves and posted a 9.48 goals against average while facing seven nationally-ranked opponents, none lower than 20th in the country. Puzak also became just the third goalkeeper in the history of the women’s lacrosse program (Jen Chumley, Tara Jensen) to post double digits in wins in a season on her way to earning Second Team All-Conference honors last season.

Sarigianis is the team’s top returning scorer and was chosen as an All-South Atlantic Region Second Team member by the IWLCA)/US Lacrosse D-III Committee last season for the Seahawks. Sarigianis led the team with 40 goals and finished second on the team with 47 total points. She also led the team with 56 ground balls and tied for second on the team in game-winning goals (2). She was a Second Team All-Conference performer for the Seahawks last season.

The preseason rankings appear below and in the January/February issue of Lacrosse magazine. Expanded college previews will run in the March issue. The magazine is online at


NCAA Division III Women Preseason Top 20
1. The
College of New Jersey
2. Middlebury
Colorado College
6. Williams
7. Colby
10. Bowdoin
11. Drew
12. Skidmore
13. Washington and Lee
14. St. Mary’s (
15. William Smith
16. Franklin and Marshall
17. Ursinus
18. Trinity (
19. Mary Washington
20. Wesleyan