rose essex employee of year calvert memorial hospitalPrince Frederick, MD – Calvert Memorial Hospital celebrated its 41st annual Employee Recognition Banquet at the Chesapeake Beach Resort & Spa on May 14.   Retirees were honored and service awards were given to employees with 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 and 35 years. Delores Jones, who works in Endoscopy, was given a standing ovation for 40 years of service.  

Rose Essex was named the hospital’s 2015 Employee of the Year.  Dean Teague, President and CEO, said, “Since 1981, Rose has been an educator in our diabetes self-management program. She is a compassionate and hardworking professional who puts her patients’ needs first and foremost.  Her teaching is very creative; she provides simple illustrations and gives organs names like “Grandma” to help people remember how their bodies work and why it is important to keep these “characters” in check.  You can hear her voice echoing from the classroom, a sign of her engagement and energy.  She truly deserves Employee of the Year.”

In addition to Essex, the other nominees for Employee of the Year were Karen Englehaupt, Nuclear Medicine; Betty Ellis, Family Birth Center; Diane Blackburn, Finance; Celeste Fusco, Wound Care Center; Shannon Morley, Emergency Services; Chris Gathings, Plant Operations; Mattie Pankey, Information Technology; Donna Deninno, Pharmacy; Kellie Smith, Rehabilitation Services; Angela Horn, Communications; and Dirk Gross, CMH Billing. 

Heather Wright, Director of Cardiopulmonary Services, received the hospital’s Beacon Award, presented to the department leader who exemplifies outstanding leadership skills.  Tony Bladen, Vice President of Operations, remarked, “Heather stands out as a remarkable department leader.  In addition to her leadership of the cardiopulmonary team, her leadership as co-director of the hospital-wide Safer Airway Committee has allowed us to design, initiate and advance a safety program that is team-based and multi-departmental.  Her positive, professional and engaging style inspires others.”  

Fourteen other leaders were also nominated: Jennifer Browning, Practice Manager for Calvert Physical Medicine and Pain Management; Stephanie Cleaveland, Director, Emergency Services; Ella Giddings-Devone, Revenue Cycle Manager; Ginger Everton, Director of Risk Management and Regulatory Compliance; Erin Farley, Manager, Urgent Care Centers; Melissa Hall, Manager, Clinical Informatics; Kara Harrer, Director of the Pharmacy; Jim Marcum, Manager, Safety and Security; Kathy Moore, Director of Rehabilitation Services; Jean Murray, Director of Infection Control; Barbara Rodda, Practice Manager of Calvert Primary Care Prince Frederick; Susan Stevens, Manager of Volunteer and Guest Services; Karen Twigg, Director, Integrated Care Department; and Kayla Walton, Manager of Patient Access/Registration.

Other awards presented at the banquet were Outstanding New Leader to Susan Stevens for her leadership of the guest services program and development of the hospital’s new thrift shop.  Gail Harkins and Wendy Cox were presented Foundation awards for their exceptional philanthropic efforts.  “The Dean’s List” awards went to Kara Harrer for “Stellar Calvert Health System  Influence” and Ella Giddings-Devone for “The Most Impactful Six Months of Leadership.” The Safety Champion Award was given to Juliet Ceci and four “Hero” awards were presented to Julie Sivak, Barbara Brett, Joan Rozran and Renee Sbrocco for their exceptional patient safety practices.