The Greater Waldorf Jaycees and the College of Southern Maryland invested in the future of more than 70 students by recognizing scholarship recipients during the seventh annual Scholarship Awards Breakfast on October 21. The event, held at the Waldorf Jaycees Community Center, recognizes students with outstanding community service potential, as well as their families and the donors who make the scholarships possible.

Dick Gregory, president of the Greater Waldorf Jaycees’ Foundation, and CSM President Bradley Gottfried presented the awards, including 11 renewal scholarships. Among those recognized were previous recipients Kristina Freeman and Shannon Speedling, who received special recognition for achieving the highest grade point averages. Scholarship recipients are chosen based on recommendations, academic achievement, financial need and demonstrated potential for community leadership.

The Waldorf Jaycees have been helping Charles County residents develop leadership skills through community service for 37 years. According to Gregory, Jaycee volunteers assist the community by providing aid to the elderly, helping the developmentally disabled, encouraging crime prevention and developing youth assistance and community support programs.

The Waldorf Jaycees sponsored four scholarships and co-sponsored 25 scholarships with CSM. Recipients of this year’s Jaycees’ scholarships are: Brandi Tanner who received the Gertrude Mitchell Nursing Scholarship, Brooke Good who received the Mary Matula Scholarship, Ericka Critchley who received the James Sweatt Scholarship and Jamie Tarbox who received the Brian Ramsey Memorial Scholarship.

The following students were recognized as scholarship recipients:

2006-2007 CSM Foundation/Waldorf Jaycees Scholarships:

Rebecca Churchwell; Andrew Dias; Robert Donnelly; Shonae Fields; Jamie Hamilton; Justin Hoffman; Justina Howk; Victoria Langley; Kristy Lingenfeller; Tracy Moudry; Natalee Reyes; Katelyn Snider; Janelle Spencer; Ellen Underwood

2006-2007 Renewal CSM Foundation/Waldorf Jaycees Scholarships:

Amanda Baden; Mary Bivens; Christie Cooper; Kelcei McElvine; Iam Moore; Rachael Olup; Jennifer Roche;Sarah Ross; Shannon Speedling; Christina Trefry; Cassandra Wallio

2006-2007 CSM Foundation Scholarships

Cravat Memorial Scholarship

Jimmie Bise; Yvonna Craig; Andrew Dias; Shonae Fields; Justina Howk; Justin Hoffman; Stacy Huntt; Victoria Langley; Kristy Lingenfelter; Ian Moore; Tracy Moudry;