Ocean City, MD, June 22, 2019 – Maryland State Fire Marshal Brian S. Geraci, along with Chief Deputy Fire Marshal Gregory J. Der, announced the winner of the 2018 James C. Robertson Deputy State Fire Marshal of the Year Award at the Maryland State Firemen’s Association Convention in Ocean City.

Deputy Fire Marshal Matthew T. Wrenn, a member of the State Fire Marshal’s Bomb Squad, was awarded the honor for his exceptional performance with the agency.
“Matt is truly this agency’s unsung hero,” said Bomb Squad Commander and Deputy Chief State Fire Marshal Duane K. Svites. “He is the kind of employee who offers great attention to detail and a willingness to cooperate.”

Wrenn was nominated with four other Deputy Fire Marshals from the agency’s regional offices as contenders for the James C. Robertson award including, Brandon Beall, Melissa Decker, Christopher Fenzel, and Cory Hurst.. All five deputies were applauded for their dedication to the Fire Marshal’s office.

“Each of these individuals represents their peers with great devotion and distinction,” Chief Deputy Fire Marshal Gregory J. Der said. “Each has gone above and beyond the call of duty. They come to work every day, looking forward to the challenge of making Maryland a safer place to live, work, play, and raise a family.”

From the left; Chief Deputy Greg Der, Deputy State Fire Marshal of the Year Matthew Wrenn, State Fire Marshal Brian Geraci

Deputy State Fire Marshal nominees from the left; Christopher Fenzel, Brandon Beall, Melissa Decker, Cory Hurst, and winner Matthew Wrenn.