Comptroller Franchot Congratulates 2015 William Donald Schaefer Award Winners

–  24 Awards Given to Deserving Groups and Individuals Throughout Maryland –

ANNAPOLIS, Md. (July 27, 2015) –  Comptroller Franchot traveled to every corner of the state to present the 2015 William Donald Schaefer Helping People Award to  Maryland citizens and organizations dedicated to serving their communities. A diverse group of recipients in all 23 counties and Baltimore City were recognized during the past four months for continuing Governor Schaefer’s legacy of public service.

“All the award recipients share an extraordinary commitment to helping people and making a difference in their communities,” said Comptroller Franchot. “I have had the opportunity to meet so many wonderful people who are improving their communities through education and art programs, assisting the homeless, providing services to seniors and people with disabilities, and supporting their fellow Marylanders who have fallen on hard times.

They are truly carrying on Governor Schaefer’s lifelong commitment to helping others.”

The Comptroller created the award in 2012 to honor individuals and organizations in all 24 Maryland jurisdictions who best exemplify Governor and Comptroller Schaefer’s unparalleled legacy of public service.

Winners are recognized for improving the community, swiftly solving a problem through effective government intervention, directly aiding the most vulnerable in society or creating a public-private partnership to improve the lives of Marylanders.

The Comptroller presented the awards to each recipient during a special ceremony held in their communities.

Tom Shaffer – Allegany County

Tabitha’s House – Harford County

Jerome “Jerry” W. Klasmeier – Anne Arundel County

The Little Things For Cancer – Howard County

Health Care for the Homeless – Baltimore City

Lani Seikaly – Kent County

Charles “Choo” Smith Jr. – Baltimore County

Tammy Darvish – Montgomery County

Guffrie M. Smith Jr. – Calvert County

Melwood – Prince George’s County

Frank M. Adams –  Caroline County

Dan Tabler – Queen Anne’s County

The Kahlert Foundation – Carroll County

Cedar Lane Senior Living Community -St Mary’s County

Elkton Police Department – Cecil County

Somerset County Long Term Recovery Committee – Somerset County

Western Charles County Community Association – Charles County

Alex Handy – Talbot County

Victoria L. Jackson-Stanley – Dorchester County

Loretta Mulcahey – Washington County

Ed and MaryLynn Hinde – Frederick County

Dr. Janet Dudley-Eshbach – Wicomico County

Phil Malone – Garrett County

Mike and Helen Wiley – Worcester County