The College of Southern Maryland has inducted its newest members,
fourth-semester nursing students, into the Alpha Omega Chapter of the
Alpha Delta Nu Nursing Society, during a ceremony at the La Plata Campus
in September. Inducted were, from left, Hannah Arnold of Lexington Park,
Samata Bushal and Samantha Cox of Waldorf, Valerie Dowell of Dowell,
Christine Hurry of Clements, Kelcie McElvine of White Plains, Amanda
Schmeltz of La Plata, and Susan Wallish of Lusby. The path to induction
involves nursing students becoming provisional members at the beginning
of their third semester of study. They must maintain a cumulative 3.0
grade point average, earn a “B” or higher in all courses required
for the nursing program with no previous nursing course failures, and
reflect sound moral and ethical values with professionalism and
integrity of the highest caliber. Established in 2012, the Alpha Delta
Nu Nursing Honor Society is recognized by the National Association of
Associate Degree Nursing. CSM formed its chapter in 2014. Faculty
advisors for the society are Nursing Professor Jan Bonham, Associate
Professor Lynn Kennedy and Associate Professor/Nursing Program Area
Coordinator Karen Russell. For information about CSM’s nursing program
and other health sciences, visit