NEW CARROLLTON, Md. – Governor Larry Hogan announced eight counties will receive more than $2.3 million in the first round of Maryland Eviction Prevention Partnership grants.

“These awards reinforce my administration’s strong support for ensuring Marylanders stay safe and secure in their homes during the COVID-19 pandemic,” said Governor Hogan. “We are dedicated to assisting counties in their efforts to prevent eviction during these tough economic times.”

The Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development will administer the grants, funded by the federal Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) program. The $2.3 million distribution is the first wave of funding in the Hogan Administration’s promised $30 million program to prevent evictions across the state. These efforts, combined with the additional $30 million in efforts of local governments, represent more than $60 million dedicated to providing rental assistance for Marylanders.

The national CDBG program was enacted into law by Congress as part of the Housing and Community Development Act of 1974. For 45 years, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) program has supported community redevelopment, affordable housing, and the expansion of economic opportunities, principally for persons of low and moderate income. The program is a vital resource for Maryland’s counties, cities, and towns in their efforts to provide critical services to their residents.

“The Community Development Block Grant has been an important federal resource in Maryland,” said Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development Secretary Kenneth C. Holt. “This funding is essential as local governments respond effectively to the impacts of COVID-19.”

During the Hogan administration, the Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development has administered over $51 million in CDBG assistance for more than 170 projects across Maryland.

Maryland Eviction Prevention Partnership Awards:

1. Allegany County- $55,000
2. Cecil County- $100,000
3. Charles County- $200,000
4. Frederick County- $722,129
5. Kent County- $84,246
6. Queen Anne’s County- $80,000
7. Somerset County- $100,000
8. Wicomico County- $1,000,000

TOTAL – $2,341,375