Annapolis, MD — When Governor Larry Hogan on Feb. 20 submitted 331 appointment nominations to the Maryland State Senate, he was following a venerable Maryland tradition. The appointments are known as “green bag” appointments from a tradition that has its roots in English history going back to a green bag that could be found behind the Speaker’s chair in the House of Commons.

Since 1851 Maryland’s governor has been required to submit to the Maryland Senate a list of appointees to “civil offices” which then must be confirmed by the senate.

Traditionally those appointments are in a green bag, although an extensive search by the Maryland Archives was unable to uncover exactly when that state tradition began.

There were a number of names of Southern Marylanders in the green bag. They included:
• The Honorable W. Louis Hennessy of Charles County to the District Court of Maryland (Dist. 4 – Calvert, Charles and St. Mary’s)
• Julian Blacklock Wills, Jr. of Charles County to the Maryland Economic Development Commission
• Commissioner Mike Hewitt of St. Mary’s, Commissioner Pat Nutter of Calvert and Dr. James Gesl of Charles to the Critical Area Commission of the Chesapeake and Coastal Bays
• John J. McAllister, Jr. of St. Mary’s to the Board of Trustees of St. Mary’s College
• Commissioner Todd Morgan, Michael Loughran and Michael Whitson, all of St. Mary’s, to the Historic St. Mary’s City Commission
• James Anderson, Katherine O’Malley Simpson and Craig Renner to the Charles County Board of Elections
• Noel Temple “Tim” Wood, Kenneth Boothe, Adelaide McBride, Rebecca Jo Wathen and Rose Frederick to the St., Mary’s County Board of Elections
• Michael Fedorczyk, D.C., of Calvert, to the State Board of Chiropractic and Message Therapy Examiners
• Karen Brandt of Charles to the State Board of Environmental Health Specialists
• Robert Gajdys and Leonora Winters of Calvert, and Lisa Savoy of Charles to the Commission on Indian Affairs
•  Donald Ocker of St. Mary’s to the State Board of Professional Land Surveyors
• Denise Capaci of Charles to the State Board of Social Work Examiners
• Paul Ausley of St. Mary’s to the Maryland Technology Development Corporation (TEDCO) Board of Directors
• Gloria Larman of Calvert to the Maryland Veterans Home Commission

The following is a press release from the governor’s office on the Green Bay appointments:

The governor’s appointments secretary, James Fielder, presented Senate President Mike Miller with the names of nominees, which include representatives from all 23 counties and Baltimore City. The 331 names submitted represent one of the highest totals in recent history for these types of appointees and demonstrates the outpouring of bipartisan support the governor and the administration have received from the citizens of Maryland.

“The names submitted today represent our administration’s commitment to the people of Maryland to provide the responsive, competent, and well-qualified state government they deserve and expect,” said Governor Hogan. “I am proud that they are reflective of the diverse nature of our state, and I look forward to seeing the great work that these outstanding men and women will accomplish over the next few years. Over 10 percent of today’s nominations will fill roles on boards and commissions focused on economic development across the state.”

Reflecting the administration’s commitment to making Maryland a more business-friendly state, the governor made 10 nominations to the Maryland Economic Development Commission. These include established and respected leaders of the business community such as Anirban Basu, James Brady, and Aristides Melissaratos.

Governor Hogan also made a number of key nominations to the University System of Maryland Board of Regents – nominations that will help to strengthen the state’s already strong and growing public higher education system.

“The governor and I are incredibly proud of the selections we have made to fill key leadership positions throughout the state,” said Appointments Secretary Jim Fielder. “These individuals come from all parts of Maryland and from diverse ethnic and professional backgrounds. We are confident that these men and women will all work hard to change Maryland for the better.”

This year’s Green Bag includes appointment nominations for over 90 different boards and commissions. A sampling of the nominations include:
• Anirban Basu, Baltimore County – Maryland Economic Development Commission
• Hon. Barry Glassman, Harford County – Maryland Economic Development Corporation (MEDCO) Board of Directors
• Michael L. Higgs, Jr., Montgomery County – Public Service Commission
• Claire M. Fraser, Ph.D. – Howard County, Maryland Technology Development Corporation (TEDCO) Board of Directors
• Matthew Lee, Montgomery County – Maryland Technology Development Corporation (TEDCO) Board of Directors
• Mary Shank Creek, Washington County – Agricultural and Resource-Based Industry Development Corporation (MARBIDCO)
  Board of Directors of Maryland
• Robert R. Neall, Anne Arundel County – University System of Maryland Board of Regents
• Theo Ngongang, Baltimore City – Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays
• Carolyn Cummins, Worcester County – Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays

Dating back to 17th-century England, the term “Green Bag” refers to the green satchel that is used once every year to bring the gubernatorial nominations to the Senate. It is a longstanding tradition for a member of the governor’s staff to deliver the bag once a year to the Maryland State Senate.