Calvert Health System recently held its annual physician recognition and awards dinner to honor medical staff for their outstanding leadership and service to our community. 
Calvert Memorial Hospital (CMH) President and CEO Dean Teague said, “We are fortunate to have such an exceptional team of physicians who are so committed to our organization. Great things are happening at Calvert Health System and those changes have been made possible by your leadership and commitment to excellence. We are an organization that is willing to grow and morph along with the changing needs of the population we serve – a population that will know that no matter where they are in Calvert County, they are only 15 minutes away from exceptional care.  On behalf of the board, the executive team and as a member of this community, I thank you.”

In addition to welcoming 18 new physicians to the team and celebrating more than 2500 years of service as a collective medical staff, Dr. Wilfred “Bud” Ehrmantraut, CMH chief of medical staff, recognized the following physicians for their dedicated years of service: Dr. Joseph Barth (20 years), Dr. Barbara Estes (20 years), Dr. David Gallatin (20 years), Dr. Bryan Herron (20 years), Dr. Sara Lukban (20 years), Dr. Bhargesh Mehta (20 years), Dr. Julia O’Keefe (20 years), Dr. Dhiren Shah (20 years), Dr. Gyan Surana (20 years), Dr. Sylvia Batong (25 years) and Dr. Harry Kerasidis (25 years). 

Dr. Michael Dodd spoke on behalf of Dr. Kathleen Miller, who is retiring this summer after 34 years of dedicated service to the hospital and community. Dr. Miller is looking forward to having more time to devote to local, charitable organizations.

The Community Service Awards, reserved for physicians who have demonstrated outstanding commitment, leadership and dedicated service, were presented to Hollie Hurner, P.A., and Dr. Thomas Annulis by Dr. J. Michael Brooks, vice president of medical affairs at CMH.

After 10 years of service in the United States Army, Hurner completed her graduate studies and joined the CMH staff in 2009. She currently serves as director of the hospitalist program and director of informatics for acute care for CMH.

Dr. Thomas Annulis has been with CMH since 2010. Along with the integrative care department, Dr. Annulis has been an integral part of bringing the Calvert CARES Discharge Clinic from an idea on paper to reality. The clinic directly benefits those patients who wish to be engaged in their healthcare, but who struggle with multiple issues, including access to care. This innovative clinic sees our hospitalized patients within three days after discharge, spends at least four hours with the team – and the cost is free.  

In addition to the Community Service Awards, Calvert Health System also recognizes physicians from tertiary partnerships that help improve local access to academic level services. The recipient of this year’s Partners in Care Award, for his work with the Center for Neuroscience Neurosurgical Program is Dr. Jean-Marc Voyadzis.

Also honored at the event were members of the medical staff who participated in system-wide initiatives, such as the implementation of the hospitals new electronic health record system and the Baby-Friendly ® Designation. CMH is the only independent hospital in the state to achieve Baby-Friendly ® status.
Calvert Memorial Hospital is a private, not-for-profit, community-owned hospital.  Founded in 1919, CMH has been taking care of Southern Maryland families for nearly a century. In addition to the main hospital campus, satellite medical office buildings in Dunkirk, Twin Beaches, Prince Frederick, Lusby and Solomons ensure that quality care is no more than 15 minutes from anywhere in Calvert County. Calvert Health System’s trusted team provides residents with safe, high quality health care and promotes wellness for a healthy community – all while making a difference in every life we touch.