White Marsh Elementary was one of six Maryland public schools to be awarded a Blue Ribbon.

Six Maryland public schools last month were selected as recipients of the U.S. Department of Education’s 2016 National Blue Ribbons. The schools are:

• Arnold Elementary School located in Anne Arundel County
• Pasadena Elementary School located in Anne Arundel County
• George Washington Carver Center for Arts & Technology located in Baltimore County
• Hareford High School located in Baltimore County
• North Harford Elementary Schoo located in Harford County
• White Marsh Elementary School located in St. Mary’s County

Now in its 34th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed this coveted award on fewer than 8,500 schools. On Nov. 7 and 8, the Department will formally recognize the 279 public and 50 private schools at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.

U.S. Education Secretary John King said the new National Blue Ribbon Schools stand “as shining examples for your communities, your state, and this nation.”  He added that the newly honored schools are “proof that we can prepare every child for college or a meaningful career.”

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle, and high schools where students achieve very high learning standards or are making notable improvements in closing the achievement gap. The award affirms the hard work of students, educators, families, and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging content.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools flag gracing a school’s building is a widely recognized symbol of exemplary teaching and learning. National Blue Ribbon Schools are an inspiration and a model for schools still striving for excellence.